Challenger Class Association

Reports and results of 2023 Challenger events

Date Event
25-26 February (Sat & Sun) RYA Dinghy and Watersports Show, Farnborough International Exhibition Centre.
15-16 April (Sat & Sun) Coaching weekend, Rutland Sailing Club
Yachts and Yachting report.
29-30 April (Sat & Sun) Scottish Traveller 1, Annandale Sailing Club
Yachts and Yachting report with results.
12-13 May (Fri & Sat) Burghfield Challenger Regatta, Burghfield Sailability and Burghfield Sailing Club
13-14 May (Sat & Sun) Scottish Traveller 2, Monklands Sailing Club
Yachts and Yachting report with results.
20-21 May (Sat & Sun) English Open Challenger Championship, Oxford Sailability at Oxford Sailing Club
Yachts and Yachting report with results.
3-4 June (Sat & Sun) Scottish Traveller 3, Castle Semple Sailing Club
Yachts and Yachting report with results.
10-11 June (Sat & Sun) Grafham Challenger Regatta, Grafham Water Sailability
Yachts and Yachting report with results.
24-25 June (Sat & Sun) Challenger Open Regatta, Scaling Dam Sailing and Watersports Club
Yachts and Yachting report with results.
1-2 July (Sat & Sun) RYA Sailability Multiclass Regatta, Weymouth and Portland National Sailing Academy
8-9 July (Sat & Sun) Scottish Traveller 4, CCC Duncan's Regatta, Bardowie Loch
22-23 July (Sat & Sun) Welsh Open Challenger Championship, Llyn Brenig Sailing Club
Yachts and Yachting report with results.
5-6 August (Sat & Sun) Scottish Traveller 5 incorporating the Scottish Open Challenger Championship, Loch Venachar Sailing Club
Yachts and Yachting report with results.
12-13 August (Sat & Sun) WISH Challenger Regatta, Wigan and St Helens Sailing Club
Yachts and Yachting report with results.
26-27 August (Sat & Sun) Scottish Traveller 6, Loch Earn Sailing Club
Yachts and Yachting report with results.
15-17 September (Fri - Sun) UK Open Challenger Championship, Rutland Sailing Club
Yachts and Yachting report with results.
30 September - 1 October (Sat & Sun) Handicap Open, Ogston Sailing Club
Yachts and Yachting report with results.

Open handicap events

If you are an experienced Challenger sailor, who can tow your own boat and have sufficient help to build, dismantle, launch and recover it independently, then you may be interested in competing in open handicap events. Challengers regularly take part in the Selden SailJuice Winter Series. Please email us before entering as not all venues are suitable for Challengers. These events usually have big fleets (over 100 boats) and attract sailors of exceptionally high standards.

Challengers also take part in other open events. Before doing so it is prudent to contact the venue to check it is suitable for a Challenger. Please email us if you have competed in open events at Challenger friendly venues and would like to recommend them to others.